Welcome to our Website.

We officially opened our doors in July 2004, after a lack of funds halted the project in the 1980’s. In 1998 a new committee of the following members  ( Frank Kennedy, Brigid Emerson, Mary Keogh, Pauline Hooks, Billy Kenna, Theresa Kenna, Ed Murray, Paddy Dowling John O’Kane, Aidan Mullins, Rory Whelan & Paul Bolger) took over the project  and the centre was officially opened by Fr Michael Noonan and Reverend Lesley Stevenson.

Chairman of the Community Centre at the time Frank Kennedy also thanked everyone involved and paid special tribute to the FAS Community Employment Scheme and said that they did a huge amount of work for the centre. Fr Noonan made a special presentation to Theresa and Billy Kenna for their years of hard work. The Meeting room on the third floor of the centre is named after them’The Kenna Room’.  Further rooms on the ground floor have also been named after people who has a big impact on the centre, including “Brigid’s Room” which was named after Brigid Emerson who was on the 1998 committee.  Also Sandra’s Studio which was named in May 2018 after our dear colleague Sandra Carr.

opening of community centre 001